Tags

, , ,


The following verses where orated by an aristrocratic Indian princess who lived in the 16th century.  She left her privileged life for a spiritual one and sang about intense union, separation and longing for a love unrequited ~

O’ friend, I am driven mad with love,

No one understands my pain.

~

I know not the restraints of love,

Nor the rituals of worship.

~

It’s wayward and headstrong this crazy love of mine,

I’ve turned both my eyes into burning lamps for my love.

~

O’ friend, I am driven mad in love,

No one understands my pain.

~

I stand by the riverbank,

Watching the waters mix.

~

I, so full of sin and my love so pure,

How can we ever meet ?

~

I play a game of chance with my love,

If I win he’s mine, If I lose I’m his!

~

I write to my beloved and call unto him,

The truth, since he went away, my eyes have become restless.

~

If I put kohl in my eyes it now hurts,

In these eyes only my beloved dwells.

~

My beloved came to me in my dream and embraced me passionately,

Fearful, I did not open my eyes in-case I lose him again!

~

Only the broken hearted know the pain of the wounded,

No one else can realise my hurt.

~

O’ friend, I am driven mad in love,

No one understands my pain.

